The Society of MSK Campaign

A New Era in Pancreatic Cancer Care

CHAIRS Kamie Lightburn Dara O'Hara Ferebee Taube

SUSTAINING CHAIRS Suzie Kovner Elizabeth G. Miller

ASSOCIATES CHAIRS Krista Corl Gillian Hearst Barkley Hickox Anne Roy

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Kate Allen Maria von Bothmer Lisa Errico Shoshanna Gruss Shabnam Henry Karen Thornwell May Palmer Jones O'Sullivan Claudia Overstrom Naomi Waletzky



THE SOCIETY of MEMORIAL SLOAN KETTERING CANCER CENTER

TRANSFORMING PANCREATIC CANCER CARE THROUGH RESEARCH

The David M. Rubenstein Center for Pancreatic Cancer Research at Memorial Sloan Kettering is dedicated to improving the lives of people with pancreatic cancer through innovative multidisciplinary research. Its 50 faculty experts collaborate on breakthrough discoveries, harnessing their findings to offer bold new approaches in cancer prevention and care.

The Society of MSK 2021-2022 Campaign will accelerate ambitious, path-breaking progress at MSK. The need for novel approaches is urgent.



A small cadre of treatment-resistant pancreatic cells drive this cancer, which has a **five-year survival rate of less than 10%**. I fundamentally believe we can beat this tumor type.

CHRISTINE IACOBUZIO-DONAHUE, MD, PHD

Director, David M. Rubenstein Center for Pancreatic Cancer Research, MSK; David M. Rubenstein Chair

UNDERSTANDING CANCER FROM AN EVOLUTIONARY PERSPECTIVE

Pancreatic cancer, frequently symptomless, is often not detected until it has reached a late stage. Chemotherapy, radiation, and surgery rarely provide effective long-term treatment because this cancer type almost always develops an ability to spread.

Gastrointestinal pathologist Dr. Iacobuzio-Donahue, David M. Rubenstein Chair and Director of the Rubenstein Center, is investigating a small group of genetically differentiated, treatment-resistant pancreatic cancer cells that not only survive but thrive in response to the standard therapies that wipe out most diseased cells.

She and her team are radically reimagining prevention and care to better target these cells, transform the disease into a manageable chronic condition, and significantly extend survival. They continue to develop therapies that offer the hope of a cure.



HOW YOUR SUPPORT WILL HELP

The Society of MSK 2021-2022 Campaign will drive revolutionary change to provide people with or at risk for pancreatic cancer with life-changing care. Your philanthropy in support of pressing MSK initiatives at the Rubenstein Center promises an enduring global impact. These projects include:

- Expanding the prevention and early detection program
- Developing laboratory models, based on patient tumors, to identify existing treatments, test therapy response, and create new drugs
- Tracking tumors' long-term behaviors to pinpoint the forces that shape treatment resistance and metastasis
- Advancing personalized medicine approaches, including genetically targeted therapies and individualized vaccines
- Using sophisticated high-dose radiotherapy to shrink patients' tumors, making them operable
- Supporting the Last Wish Program, which empowers people with pancreatic cancer to posthumously donate their tissues and contribute to research dedicated to improving outcomes

A NEW APPROACH TO DETECTION

Preventing or catching cancer early is a key to saving lives. Dr. Iacobuzio-Donahue's early detection program is using genetic sequencing, enhanced imaging, and other relevant information, such as a history of smoking or diabetes, to combine nonoverlapping indicators of pancreatic cancer — and identify who is at the highest risk for the disease.



THE SOCIETY OF MSK 2021-2022 ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD

PRESIDENT

Kate Allen

VICE PRESIDENTS

Mrs. Christopher Errico Shabnam Henry Claudia Taylor Overstrom

TREASURER Naomi Waletzky

ASSISTANT TREASURER

Palmer Jones O'Sullivan

SECRETARY

Maria von Bothmer

ASSISTANT SECRETARY Shoshanna Gruss

PAST PRESIDENT

Mrs. M. Anthony May

MEMBERS-AT-LARGE

Travis Acquavella Allison Aston Muffie Potter Aston Mrs. James Halsey Bell Claire Capello Catherine Carey Mrs. Kevin C. Coleman Mrs. Peter G. Cordeiro Courtney Corleto Mrs. Archibald Cox, Jr. Mrs. Michael J.A. Darling Mary McDonnell Davidson Kathryn Davis Gretchen Gunlocke Fenton Ruth G. Fleischmann Mrs. Robert M. Gardiner Sallie Giordano Eugenie Niven Goodman Alexia Hamm Ryan Leslie Heaney Jennifer James Robyn Lane Joseph Victoria Greenleaf Kempner Anna Kennedy Mrs. Michael Kennedy Jessie Kisling

Martha O'Brien Lamphere Patricia Herrera Lansing Kamie Lightburn Stephanie Loeffler Mrs. José Luis Los Arcos Mrs. Roman Martinez IV Rebekah McCabe Aniali Melwani Carolina de Neufville Dara O'Hara Jennifer Gaffney Oken Marcie Pantzer Mrs. Richard T. Perkin Betsv Pitts Mrs. Louis Rose Martha Sharp Hope Geier Smith Annie Taube Ferebee Taube Amanda Tavlor Mrs. Andrew S. Thomas Amanda Waldron Ms. Caryn Zucker

SUSTAINING BOARD

Mrs. Andrew M. Blum Tory Burch Mrs. Michael Carr Nancy Coffey Dianne G. Crary Jennifer Creel Mrs. James F. Curtis III Mrs. James H. Dean Mrs. Hilary Dick Antonia Paepcke DuBrul Webb Egerton Mrs. Thomas J. Fahey, Jr. Mrs. Lars Forsberg Mrs. Thomas M. Fitzgerald III Elizabeth Kirby Fuller Mrs. Thomas S. Glover Mrs. Stephanie Griswold Mrs. Roberto de Guardiola Mrs. John S. Hilson Mrs. Ann F. Jeffery Mrs. Scott C. Johnston Suzie Kovner Mrs. Brian A. McCarthy Elizabeth G. Miller Mrs. Minot K. Milliken

Mrs. George F. Moss Joyce L. Moss Mrs. Charles H. Mott Mrs. Samuel F. Pryor IV Mrs. Bambi Putnam Mrs. Benjamin M. Rosen Mrs. Paul C. Schorr IV Kitty Sherrill Evelyn Angevine Silla Mrs. Sean P. Smith Leith Rutherfurd Talamo Mrs. Michael L. Tarnopol Victoria Vought Mrs. Martha Webster Mrs. Thomas E. Zacharias

PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL

Mrs. Rand V. Araskog D. Dixon Boardman Nina Garcia Conrod Mrs. Charles A. Dana, Jr. Fiona Druckenmiller Mrs. Richard S. LeFrak Mrs. Donald B. Marron Linda Gosden Robinson Mrs. Paul Soros

PAST PRESIDENTS

Mrs. Coleman P. Burke Mrs. Edwin M. Burke Mrs. William M. Carson Mrs. Walter B. Delafield Mrs. Bruce A. Gimbel Martha Vietor Glass Mrs. Peter S. Gregory Alison Barr Howard Mrs. Peter D. Jones Mrs. Kerrvn King Mrs. Arie L. Kopelman Mrs. Thomas V. Leeds Mrs. Derek L. Limbocker Jean Remmel Little Mrs. Frank A. Metz, Jr. Dr. Annette U. Rickel Mrs. Bijan Safai Lavinia Branca Snyder

FOUNDER

Mrs. Edward C. Delafield



The Society is an essential and generous philanthropic partner, supporting an array of MSK programs that make a profound impact on the lives of people and families affected by cancer.

CRAIG B. THOMPSON, MD

President and CEO, MSK; Douglas A. Warner III Chair

THE SOCIETY OF MSK 2021-2022 ASSOCIATES COMMITTEE

CHAIR Gillian Hearst VICE CHAIRS Austen Cruz Ali Edwards Amory McAndrew

COMMITTEE

Julia Amory Abigail Baratta Veronica Swanson Beard Lili Buffett Nina Carbone Fischer Cherry Lindsey Coleman Krista Corl Helena Martinez Cornell Mimi Bitzen Crawford Alix C. Creel Phoebe de Croisset Nathalie Pierrepont Danilovich Beth Blake Day Mary Dillow

Mary Carlisle Gambill Marcella Guarino Barkley Hickox Breanna Khoury Meghan Klopp Elizabeth Kurpis Amanda M. Mariner Lucinda Ballard May Candice Miller Whitney Mogavero Kimberly Nemser Joanna Baker de Neufville Erin O'Connor Anna Burke Patterson Betsy Pepe Emilia Fanjul Pfeifler

Isabel Boswell Phillips Candice Postel Starrett Ringbom Anne Roy Charlotte Sethness Sara Gilbane Sullivan CeCe Barfield Thompson Virginia W. Tomenson Marisa Rose van Bokhorst Jessica Sailer Van Lith Rickie De Sole Webster Brent Neale Winston Annelise Peterson Winter Sara Zilkha



PO BOX 27461, NEW YORK, NY 10087-7461 212-639-7972 | SOCIETY@MSKCC.ORG GIVING.MSKCC.ORG/SOCIETY/SOCIETY-CAMPAIGN